Iain Farrington

Pianist, organist, composer, arranger

Johann Strauss II - Tritsch Tratsch Polka

for chamber ensemble

Johann Strauss II (1825-1899) composed his Tritsch Tratsch Polka, Op. 214 in 1858, after he had finished a successful tour of Russia. 'Tritsch Tratsch' refers to 'chit chat', essentially Viennese gossip, although the title may also refer to the contemporary Austrian burlesque Der Tritsch-tratsch. The music is bustling, joyous, witty and energetic, with one of Strauss's catchiest tunes.


Instrumentation: flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, horn, trumpet, 2 percussion (timpani, cymbal, snare drum, triangle), violin 1, violin 2, viola, cello, double bass (13 players)

Available to purchase from Aria Editions here