Iain Farrington

Pianist, organist, composer, arranger

Gabriel Fauré: Sicilienne

for Wind Quintet and Piano

Gabriel Fauré (1845-1924) composed his Sicilienne originally as an orchestral piece for a production in 1893 of Moliere's play Le Bourgeois gentilhomme. Fauré subsequently reworked the piece for cello and piano in 1898, before it was included as incidental music for a production of Maeterlincks' play Pélleas et Mélisande. The work was then arranged for numerous different instruments, through which it gained great popularity. It perfectly embodies Fauré's style: a wistful melody, distinctive harmony, and a delicate lightness of texture.

Instrumentation: flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, horn, piano

Available to purchase from Aria Editions here