Iain Farrington

Pianist, organist, composer, arranger

Erik Satie: 3rd Gymnopedie for Chamber Ensemble

Erik Satie (1866-1925) composed his three Gymnopédies in 1888 for solo piano, and are his most well known pieces. The music is deceptively simple, creating a new type of composition, and daring in its use of rhythmic repetition and harmony. An idealized ancient Greek atmosphere is evoked, hinted at by the title, through the stylised and restrained use of material. Claude Debussy orchestrated the 1st and 3rd Gymnopédies in 1897, giving the music greater prominence and adding a colourful beauty to the austere piano originals.

This arrangement of the 3rd Gymnopédie is for ten players, and was made in 2009. It is based on Debussy’s orchestration of the same work.

Available to purchase from Aria Editions here

Instrumentation: flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, horn, violin 1, violin 2, viola, cello, double bass (10 players)

Listen to a performance of the arrangement here