Iain Farrington

Pianist, organist, composer, arranger

Maurice Ravel: Mother Goose Suite

for Wind Quintet and Piano

Maurice Ravel composed Ma Mere l’Oye (Mother Goose) in 1908 for piano duet, and orchestrated it in 1911, expanding it into a ballet score. The basis of the work is the 17th century collection of fairy tales known as ‘Mother Goose’. Ravel's score is beautiful, enchanting, simple and melodic. This arrangement for wind quintet and piano captures the beauty and intimacy of the original piano duet, with the colour and magic of the orchestral version.

Available to purchase from Aria Editions here

Instrumentation: flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, horn, piano

Listen to a complete performance of the arrangement here:

1. Pavane de la Belle au bois dormant

2. Petit Poucet

3. Laideronnette, Imperatrice des Pagodes

4. Les entretiens de la Belle et de la Bete

5. Le jardin feerique