Iain Farrington

Pianist, organist, composer, arranger

Sergei Rachmaninoff: Symphonic Dances for Chamber Ensemble

Rachmaninoff’s Symphonic Dances combines the lush Romanticism of the composer’s earlier style with a concise structure and rhythmic energy. This arrangement aims to create a full orchestral picture from a smaller ensemble, using only the instruments in Rachmaninoff’s score. Hearing the clarity of individual lines can reveal hidden aspects of the score, adding an intimacy in the performing and listening experience, as well as enabling this work to be performed in smaller venues without enormous financial constraints.

Listen to a live performance of the arrangement here:

1st movement opening (3’47)

1st movement ending (6’17)

2nd movement (9’58)

3rd movement (14’18)

Instrumentation: flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, horn, trumpet, trombone, piano, 2 percussion (timpani, triangle, cymbal, snare drum, tambourine), violin 1, violin 2, viola, cello, double bass

Available to purchase, please email for information. Not available in the USA due to copyright restrictions.