Iain Farrington

Pianist, organist, composer, arranger

Sergei Rachmaninoff: Symphony No. 2

for Chamber Orchestra

Rachmaninoff’s Second Symphony is not only one of his most popular works, but also one of the most well-loved pieces in the Romantic repertoire. Its long soaring melodies, rich sensuous harmonies and wide range of expression combine to create a powerful, sweeping statement. This arrangement aims to create a full orchestral picture from a smaller ensemble, using only the instruments in Rachmaninoff’s score. Hearing the clarity of individual lines can reveal hidden aspects of the score, adding an intimacy in the performing and listening experience, as well as enabling this work to be performed in smaller venues without enormous financial constraints. The complete work is arranged without cuts, and lasts around one hour.

Listen to extracts from a live performance of the arrangement here:

1st movement: Largo - Allegro moderato (11’25’’)

2nd movement: Allegro molto (3’44’’)

3rd movement: Adagio (8’02’’)

4th movement: Allegro vivace (3’08’’)

Available to hire or purchase from Aria Editions here

Instrumentation: flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, 2 horns, trumpet, 2 percussion (timpani, cymbal, glockenspiel, snare drum), violin 1, violin 2, viola, cello, double bass (minimum 2, 2, 2, 2, 2)