Iain Farrington

Pianist, organist, composer, arranger

Ludwig van Beethoven - Symphony No. 6 “Pastoral”

for ‘flexible’ Piano Trio

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827) completed his 6th Symphony in 1808, and it was premiered that year in Vienna along with his 5th Symphony. Each movement has descriptive titles, giving the work a programmatic content, and conveying an explicit expressive intent.

This arrangement is designed to be ‘flexible’ in that it can be performed by any combination of the various three parts. There are twelve possible combinations, with parts produced separately and a short score for reference.

PART A – Flute or Clarinet in Bb or Violin

PART B – Clarinet in Bb or Violin or Viola or Violoncello

PART C – Piano

It is particularly intended for the enjoyment of musicians playing the work privately and for educational purposes. The complete work is presented unabridged, and while this is not a simplified version of the score, the parts are not unnecessarily difficult.

Available to purchase from Aria Editions here