Iain Farrington

Pianist, organist, composer, arranger

Richard Wagner: Prelude to Act 1 (Parsifal)

for Chamber Orchestra

Richard Wagner (1813-1883) composed the music to Parsifal between 1877-1882, and it was his final opera to be completed. There are several notable orchestral passages in the opera that are often performed separately, including the Prelude to Act One, the Flowermaidens Scene and the Good Friday Music. The opening Prelude sets the mood of contemplation and religious fervour, including musical themes for the Grail and Communion. This is a reduction for chamber orchestra of Wagner's large score, preserving many of the different timbres and details of the original.

Instrumentation: flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, 2 horns, trumpet, trombone, harp, timpani, violin 1, violin 2, viola, cello, double bass (at least

Duration: c.11 minutes

Listen to a performance of the arrangement here

Available to hire or purchase from Aria Editions here