Iain Farrington

Pianist, organist, composer, arranger

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: The Magic Flute Overture

for Clarinet, Violin, Cello and Piano

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart composed his Singspiel Die Zauberflte (The Magic Flute) in 1791, one of his last completed works. It was written for the theatre company of Emanuel Schikaneder, who wrote the libretto and played the part of Papageno. The first performances at the Freihaus-Theatre auf der Wieden in Vienna were enormously successful, and the piece is full of sublime music. Mozart and Schikaneder were both Freemasons and there are many symbolic references to Masonic rites in the music. The number three is of special significance, and this is exemplified in the Overture: it is in the key of E flat major (three flats), there is an opening three chord sequence, and the stately middle section opens with a three chord statement. Much of the Overture is made up of exuberant fugal writing, Mozart displaying his contrapuntal genius as well as his wit. This arrangement faithfully adapts the original for four instruments.

Listen to a performance of the arrangement here

Available to purchase from Aria Editions here