Iain Farrington

Pianist, organist, composer, arranger

Georges Bizet: Jeux d’Enfants for Chamber Ensemble

​Georges Bizet (1838-1875) composed Jeux d'Enfants in 1871 for piano duet. The original version has twelve movements, nine of which have been chosen for this arrangement. Each movement is a delightful character piece, representing various children's activities. As with many of Bizet's other works, the music is full of melody, brilliance and charm. Bizet orchestrated five movements to create Petite Suite (movements 5, 3, 2, 8, 9 of this arrangement). This arrangement (with harp) is scored for the same instrumentation as Ravel's Introduction and Allegro. Piano or harp may be used, parts are provided for either instrument.

Available to purchase from Aria Editions here

Instrumentation: flute, clarinet, harp or piano, violin 1, violin 2, viola, cello (7 players)


1. L'Escarpolette – The Swing
2. La Toupie – The Spinning Top
3. La Poupée – The Doll
4. Les Chevaux de bois – The Merry-Go-Round
5. Trompette et Tambour – Trumpet and Drum
6. Les Quatre Coins – The Four Corners
7. Saute-Mouton – Leap-Frog
8. Petit Mari, petite Femme! - Little Husband, little Wife
9. Le Bal – The Ball