Iain Farrington

Pianist, organist, composer, arranger

Edvard Grieg - In the Hall of the Mountain King

for chamber ensemble

Edvard Grieg (1843-1907) composed his incidental music to Ibsen's play Peer Gynt in 1875. The movement entitled In the Hall of the Mountain King (I Dovregubbens hall) became the last piece of the first orchestral Peer Gynt Suite in 1888. In the story, Peer Gynt imagines himself to be in a hall full of trolls, gnomes and goblins, who are desperate to kill him. Grieg was uncertain of the quality of the music, writing: "For the Hall of the Mountain King I have written something that so reeks of cowpats, ultra-Norwegianism, and 'to-thyself-be-enough-ness' that I can't bear to hear it, though I hope that the irony will make itself felt." Despite Grieg's misgivings, the effectiveness and simplicity of the music has ensured its popularity across many genres.


Instrumentation: flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, horn, trumpet, harp, timpani/cymbal, violin 1, violin 2, viola, cello, double bass (13 players)

Available to purchase from Aria Editions here