Iain Farrington

Pianist, organist, composer, arranger

Charles Gounod: Messe Solennelle de Sainte-Cécile

for Soloists, Choir and Chamber Orchestra

Gounod's Messe Solennelle de Sainte-Cecile (St Cecilia Mass) was first performed in 1855, at the church of Sainte-Eustache in Paris. It is a complete setting of the Latin Mass text for three soloists, choir and orchestra, including an instrumental Offertory movement. The Sanctus is one of Gounod's most famous melodies, and has been popularised by many tenor soloists. This arrangement for chamber orchestra retains the grandeur and colour of the original, while lightening the texture and enabling the singers to be heard clearly. It allows the work to be performed in more modest venues by smaller forces, while maintaining the richness and nobility of Gounod's timbres.  All the vocal parts are as the original score.

Available to hire or purchase from Aria Editions here

Scored for flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, horn, trumpet, trombone, harp, percussion (timpani, cymbals), strings (c. 4, 4, 3, 2, 1), organ

​Choral parts are unchanged as the original, and any vocal score can be used.

Listen to extracts of a performance of the arrangement here:

1. Kyrie (ending)

2. Gloria (opening)

3. Credo (ending)

4. Offertoire (opening)

5. Sanctus (ending)

6. Benedictus (opening)

7. Agnus Dei (ending)