Iain Farrington

Pianist, organist, composer, arranger

Richard Wagner: Good Friday Music (Parsifal)

for Chamber Orchestra

Richard Wagner (1813-1883) composed the music to Parsifal between 1877-1882, and it was his final opera to be completed. There are several notable orchestral passages in the opera that are often performed separately, including the Prelude to Act One, the Flowermaidens Scene and the Good Friday Music. Taken from Act Three of the opera, the Good Friday Music occurs after Parsifal has been made King of the Knights by Gurnemanz. Parsifal praises nature and its beauty, and Gurnemanz tells him that it is Good Friday, when all the world is renewed. This is a reduction for chamber orchestra of Wagner's large score, preserving many of the different timbres and details of the original.

Instrumentation: flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, 2 horns, trumpet, trombone, harp, timpani, violin 1, violin 2, viola, cello, double bass (at least

Duration: c.10 minutes

Listen to an extract of a performance of the arrangement here

Available to hire or purchase from Aria Editions here