Iain Farrington

Pianist, organist, composer, arranger

Johannes Brahms: Geistliches Lied

for Choir and Piano Trio

The Geistliches Lied is one of Brahms's earliest choral works, combining strict counterpoint with tender expression and Romantic harmony. Originally with organ accompaniment, this arrangement is for violin, cello and piano (the piano trio being a favourite combination of Brahms) and brings a wider emotional and expressive range to the piece.

Available to purchase from Aria Editions here

Instrumentation: violin, cello, piano (3 players)

Choral parts are unchanged, as the original.

Listen to a performance of the arrangement here:

Geistliches Lied (4’57”)