Iain Farrington

Pianist, organist, composer, arranger

Jacques Offenbach - Galop infernal

for chamber ensemble

Jacques Offenbach (1819-1880) composed his comic opera Orpheus in the Underworld in 1858. The original two act version of the opera was an outstanding success, subsequently enlarged into a four act opera in 1874. It was Offenbach's greatest triumph and his most performed work. The Galop infernal appears towards the end of the opera, where the gods are having a party and join in a wild galop, having rejected a slower minuet. The piece gained notoriety when it was used to accompany the high-kicking female can-can dancers at the Parisian clubs such as the Moulin Rouge.

Instrumentation: flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, horn, trumpet, harp, timpani/triangle, violin 1, violin 2, viola, cello, double bass (13 players)

Available to purchase from Aria Editions here