Iain Farrington

Pianist, organist, composer, arranger

Gabriel Fauré: Pavane

for Wind Quintet and Piano

Gabriel Fauré (1845-1924) composed his Pavane in the summer of 1887 as an orchestral work for a concert in Paris. The piece was dedicated to Countess Elisabeth Greffulhe who had supported the composer. Her cousin, Robert de Montesquiou wrotes some verses to fit the music, and Fauré incorporated these as an optional chorus part. The Pavane was an old Spanish court dance, and with this piece Fauré influenced younger French composers such as Ravel. It has been arranged for numerous different instrumentations, and is appealing for its haunting melody, harmonic elegance and delicate textures.

Instrumentation: flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, horn, piano

Available to purchase from Aria Editions here