Iain Farrington

Pianist, organist, composer, arranger

Edward Elgar: Falstaff for Piano Solo

Edward Elgar (1857-1934) composed Falstaff in 1913 as a commission for the Leeds Festival in that year. It is named after one of Shakespeare’s greatest characters, Sir John Falstaff, and is one of Elgar’s most complex orchestral works. It is possibly unique in his output by following a specific story and depicting certain characters in purely instrumental music alone. This version for piano solo is the first complete arrangement of the piece to be published. It includes the full text of Elgar's own introduction and analysis of the work from 'The Musical Times' in 1913.

This piano arrangement is a fully playable and sympathetic version of the score, that attempts to capture the colours, emotions and sweep of the original. Although at times virtuosic, the textures are at the service of the music, and never for empty showmanship. The arrangement can be enjoyed by pianists who appreciate Elgar’s music and want to experience first hand this glorious work.

Available to purchase from Aria Editions here

Listen to a live performance here: Falstaff (34’00)