Iain Farrington

Pianist, organist, composer, arranger

Edward Elgar: Cello Concerto for Cello and Chamber Orchestra

Elgar's Cello Concerto is established as one of the great masterpieces in late Romantic music, and receives frequent performances. The original scoring is for a full symphony orchestra, although used with lightness and restraint. This arrangement for chamber orchestra allows smaller ensembles to perform the work with the full emotional impact without any loss of texture or colour.

Available to hire or purchase from Aria Editions here

Instrumentation: Flute, Oboe, Clarinet, Bassoon, Horn, Trumpet, Trombone, Timpani, Violin I, Violin II, Viola, Cello, Double Bass (medium-sized string section)

Listen to a performance of the arrangement, 1th movement, here

Watch a performance of the 3rd movement: