Iain Farrington

Pianist, organist, composer, arranger

Claude Debussy: Children’s Corner

for Wind Quintet and Piano

Claude Debussy (1862-1918) composed his Children's Corner originally as a six movement work for solo piano, and it was first published in 1908. The work was dedicated to Debussy's daughter Claude-Emma, known as 'Chou-Chou', who was three years old at the time. Movement titles are in English which was unusual for Debussy, but this was probably a reference to Claude-Emma's English nanny. Although evoking themes and characters of childhood, the piece is not intentially child-like or technically facile. This arrangement for wind quintet and piano is based on both the piano original and the 1911 orchestration by Debussy's friend André Caplet.

Instrumentation: flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, horn, piano

Available to purchase from Aria Editions here


I. Doctor Gradus ad Parnassum

II. Jimbo's Lullaby

III. Serenade of the Doll

IV. The Snow is dancing

V. The Little Shepherd

VI. Golliwogg's Cake Walk