Iain Farrington

Pianist, organist, composer, arranger

Johannes Brahms: Ein deutsches Requiem

for Choir and Chamber Ensemble

The German Requiem of Johannes Brahms is acknowledged as one of the great choral works of the Romantic era. Although originally scored for symphony orchestra, Brahms made a version for piano duet which has found popularity in recent years. Performances with piano lack the richness, colour and sustain of the long lines in Brahms' work. This arrangement for chamber ensemble has the piano at the core, while adding six other instrumentalists to create a satisfying and Brahmsian texture, retaining much of the original orchestration. It is ideal for choirs wanting to perform the work on a smaller scale, but with the variety and fullness of the orchestral version.

Available to hire or purchase from Aria Editions here

Instrumentation: flute, oboe, clarinet, violin, viola, cello and piano (7 players)

Choral and solo parts are unchanged, as the original.

Listen to a performance of the arrangement here:

1. Selig sind, die da Leid tragen (10’33’’)

2. Denn alles Fleisch, es ist wie Gras (12’56’’)

3. Herr, lehre doch mich (9’04’’)

4. Wie lieblich sind deine Wohnungen (5’27’’)

5. Ihr habt nun Traurigkeit (6’18’’)

6. Denn wir haben hie keine bleibende Statt (10’41’’)

7. Selig sind die Toten (10’09’’)