Iain Farrington

Pianist, organist, composer, arranger

Georges Bizet: Jeux d’Enfants

for Wind Quintet and Piano

Georges Bizet (1838-1875) composed Jeux d'Enfants in 1871 for piano duet, and orchestrated five movements to create Petite Suite. The original piano version has twelve movements, each one a delightful character piece representing various children's activities. As with many of Bizet's other works, the music is full of melody, brilliance and charm. This arrangement for wind quintet and piano is the complete suite unabridged, and captures the beauty and intimacy of the original piano duet, with the colour and variety of the orchestral version.

Instrumentation: flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, horn, piano

Available to purchase from Aria Editions here


1. L'Escarpolette – The Swing

2. La Toupie – The Spinning Top

3. La Poupe – The Doll

4. Les Chevaux de bois – The Merry-Go-Round

5. Le Volant – The Shuttlecock

6. Trompette et Tambour – Trumpet and Drum

7. Les Bulles de Savon – Soap Bubbles

8. Les Quatre Coins – The Four Corners

9. Colin-Maillard – Blindman's Bluff

10. Saute-Mouton – Leap-Frog

11. Petit Mari, petite Femme! – Little Husband, little Wife

12. Le Bal – The Ball