Iain Farrington

Pianist, organist, composer, arranger

Isaac Albéniz: Evocación, Triana (Iberia)

for Clarinet, Violin, Cello and Piano

Isaac Albéniz (1860-1909) was a highly successful pianist and composer, whose many piano works show a distinctive use of Spanish rhythms and melodies. His crowning compositional achievement is Iberia, a set of 12 large-scale piano pieces that depict Spanish places and events, written between 1906-1908. The first piece in the set is Evocación, which sets the scene of a hot Spanish day, slow and passionate. Triana is the sixth piece in the set, and is a lively depiction of the gypsy quarter in Seville. This arrangement adds orchestral colour to the piano original.

Available to purchase from Aria Editions here